Nelson branch

Accessible Arts Group - July

Attention Nelson Accessible Art Group

Further to discussion at our last session, next month we’ll return to acrylic painting led by Patricia. Please bring along your clay pot/s from our last two sessions - storage is available at Summerset so they can all be fired together once fully dry. Also, don’t forget to bring along your completed acrylic paintings from past sessions so they can feature in Summerset’s Art and Craft Exhibition next month!

Minutes from May General Meeting

Blind Citizens NZ Nelson Branch General Meeting
Held on Saturday 20th May 2017 at 2.00pm at Church of Christ Hall,

Mike Stevens (National Councillor), standing in for Amanda (Chair) Welcomed all to the Meeting

Present: Mike Stevens, Kaye Halkett, John Monk, Beryl Stansbury, Andrea Kepes, Betty Hodda, Ruth Chignell, Gill Clayton, Kathy Harris, Judy Campbell, Beryl Spencer, Valeria Alford, Elizabeth Raaijen, Mavis Ducray, David McNamara, Joan Davidsen, Susie Diserens, Ann Taylor, Ruth Nicholson, Shane Mead, and Jenny Meadows (acting Secretary)

Latest on Queens Street upgrade - Late May

This is the latest on Richmond’s Queen Street upgrade.
Recently Tasman District Council sought feedback on a proposal for a speed limit of 30kms per hour for Queen st and Sundial Square. Once the reinstatement work was complete..
After discussion at a General Meeting of Blind Citizens of New Zealand , Nelson Branch , a majority of members expressed approval and voted in favour of the proposal, which resulted in a submission reflecting this being sent to Tasman District Council..
Following is an extract taken from Tasman District Council’s newsline.
Other points to note are:

April General Meeting Minutes

Blind Citizens NZ Nelson Branch General Meeting
held on Saturday 22nd April 2017 at 2.00pm at Church of Christ Hall,

Amanda (Chair) Welcomed all to the Meeting

Present: Amanda Stevens (Chair), Joan Davidson, John Monk, Ann Taylor, Chrissy Fern,
Elizabeth Raaijen, Kaye Halkett, Brian Say, Noreen Cater, Judy Campbell, Valerie Cooper,


Welcome to the Nelson Branch web page.The Nelson Branch Committee is already planning events for members to enjoy and speakers and entertainment for our regular general meetings. Confirmed Dates for General Meetings 2017
Third Saturday of the Month at the Church of Christ Hall in Richmond at 2.00pm
February Saturday 18th
March Saturday 18th
April Saturday 22nd
May Saturday 20th
June Wednesday 21st Mid Year Lunch
July Saturday 15th AGM
August Saturday 19th
September Saturday 16th
November Saturday 4th

Changes to Richmond bus route

Due to the significant upgrade of Richmond's Queen Street the Richmond end of the bus route from Nelson has to change.The new bus route will become effective on Wednesday 1 February.

The bus service timetable will not change. However, the existing bus stop will shift from Sundial Square to the top of Queen Street opposite the Council Office.

The route will:


Nelson Branch Blind Citizens NZ
Newsletter – November 2016

Dear Member

This newsletter includes updates on what is happening locally in terms of community engagement regarding plans for safe access to the environment and for participation in arts and culture – something our region is renowned for inspiring.

Tasman District Council

New Nelson Branch Committee for 2016/2017

The new branch committee was elected at the July AGM.
Committee members are: Amanda Stevens (Chairperson), Kaye Halkett, Ann Taylor, Ruth Chignall, Brian Say, Mike Stevens and John Monk.
The position of National Councillor is held by Mike Stevens.
Lennane Kent is our branch committee Secretary and Steve Richards is the Treasurer.

Syndicate content